Mediterranean Awards

In 1996, the Fondazione Mediterraneo instituted the Mediterranean Awards (with various categories) that are granted every year to eminent personalities from the worlds of arts and culture, politics and science and social disciplines, whose actions have contributed to reducing tensions, breaking down cultural barriers and developing shared values in the Greater Mediterranean.

This Award is considered one of the most prestigious acknowledgements in the world.

Various events are associated with the Mediterranean Award, such as the “Euro-Mediterranean Concert for Dialogue Among Cultures” and the “Epiphany Concert” (organized by the Cultural Centre “Oltre il Chiostro” in collaboration with the Fondazione Mediterraneo. The latter event is broadcast by RaiUno and Rai International throughout the world every year on the morning of January 6th).



Mediterranean Award "Poetry" - 2018
to the Israeli Poets

On the occasion of the 70th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the 30th Anniversary of the Mediterranean Foundation, the International Committee has deliberated the award of the Mediterranean Award 2018 in favor of all the Israeli poets engaged in the promotion of a culture of peace.
The award will be presented in Israel during an important event.

Awarding Ceremony
Naples, 11 november 2018

Premio Mediterraneo "Poesia" - 2017
alla memoria di
L. Ron Hubbard
Scrittore Statunitense, USA

Nessun'altra forma d'arte comunica la veduta personale di L. Ron Hubbard sul mondo come lo fanno le sue poesie e le sue parole, avendo egli scritto versi nel corso di tutta la sua vita. Nella sua gioventù e negli anni newyorkesi come durante i suoi viaggi in mare la sua ricerca si è innalzata verso più elevati stati spirituali. Mediante l’opera Dichiarazione di Pace, L. Ron Hubbard ha gridato al mondo intero il suo appello per un sogno di Pace su questo pianeta e mediante il progetto Città Internazionale - da creare nel Nord Africa - ha offerto una visione della Pace tra le nazioni. La Fondazione degli Amici di Ron, sulla scorta di quanto L. Ron Hubbard ha desiderato e fatto in vita per gli scrittori e poeti in erba, ha istituito il “Premio Poetico degli Amici di Ron”, capace di avvicinare e dialogare con centinaia di poeti di tutto il mondo, alimentando le ispirazioni di spiriti liberi.

La Cerimonia di Assegnazione
Napoli, 17 novembre 2017

Father Paolo Dall’Oglio, representing the Monastery Mar Musa (Syria) was awarded ”for its contribution in promoting mutual respect among population believing in different religions and creeds.”
The ceremony was organized on occasion of the 4th Meeting of the Leaders of the National Networks of “Anna Lindh” Foundation in Tampere.

After the director Shoefthaler and president Capasso’s praises, Father Paolo Dall’Oglio spoke about the inter-religious dialogue stating that mediation, moderation and transparency – together with an exceptional perseverance – have to be the foundations on which to build religious, cultural and social interaction in religion.

The Finnish Minister of Foreign Affairs Tuomioja closed the ceremony assuring Finland commitment in favor of the dialogue, mutual understanding and integration of migratory flows. Diplomats representing the Euro-Mediterranean countries took part in the ceremony.

Read more: ...

The Mediterranean Award for Cinema 2003, for the section Venice Screenings of the 60th International Cinematographic Art Exhibition of Venice, was awarded to the film “Il Natale rubato”, director Pino Tordiglione, subject and script by Pino Tordiglione in collaboration with Nicola Vegro.

The reason for award is the following: the film represents and expresses the Mediterranean culture and art through the language of cinematographic communication, emphasizing human values in its contents.

The award was selected by anonymous experts who participated in the showing of the features presented at the Venice Screenings, with the aim to award a prize to the films beinh in synergy with the motivations and aims of the Fondazione Laboratorio Mediterraneo of Naples.

The special award was given by the President of the Foundation, Arch. Michele Capasso, and by Mr. Vincenzo Siniscalchi, at the Central Office of Maison de la Méditerranée – Accademia del Mediterraneo in Naples, and was preceded by the projection of the film.

Read more: ...

The Awarding Ceremony of Mediterranean Awards 2004 took place at the Maison de la Méditerranée, Vesuvio Hall. The Mediterranean Award for Science and Research 2004 was delivered to the neapolitan songwriter prof. Marcello Piazza.

Read more: ...

The second edition of “Award Sarajevo”, instituted by the Mediterranean Foundation within the context of the 8th Alpe Adria Cinema Festival – Meetings with the Cinema of Middle-Eastern Europe, completes its “commemorative” phase dedicated to ex Yugoslavia awarding the Prize to the Bosnian poet Izet Sarajic’ and publishing his book “Il libro degli Addii”.

Read more: ...

The Mediterranean Laboratory Foundation of Naples and Alpe Adria Cinema of Trieste instituted, under the presidency of Predrag Matvejevic’, the Prize “Sarajevo, with the aim to acknowledge the work of a Bosnian artist.
In its first edition the Prize has been awarded to Abdulah Sidran, poet and scriptwriter who ranks high in the European literature of our time, thanks to his creative activity in the contemporary literary panorama of Bosnia and ex Yugoslavia.

Read more: ...

During the decennial anniversary of the partnership’s agreements, the Fondazione Mediterraneo awarded the Barcelona Process the "Mediterranean Award for Dialogue between Cultures 2005".
The award has been assigned to the leaders of the 35 national networks of the Anna Lindh Foundation “as a good omen for the engagement these actors must carry out towards the European Union and the 35 Euro-Mediterranean countries” to underline its symbolic meaning.

President of the Fondazione Mediterraneo Michele Capasso stated also – with the leaders’ approval – that starting by next year this session of the prize will be called "Euro-Mediterranean Award for Dialogue between Cultures" and it will be awarded together by the Fondazione and the ALF with a jury made up of all national networks’ members headed by the leaders of Malta, Cyprus and Italy.

The Head of the Palestinian Network, representing all the national networks, thanked President Capasso for this important action that gathers together organizations coming from different cultures and Countries.

Read more: ...

This year, the architecture category makes its debut in the Mediterranean Awards programme. The first winner of this Award is Fabrizio Caròla.
 The Award is presented by the Fondazione Mediterraneo, in collaboration with the Fondazione Annali dell´Architettura e delle Città, a consortium of eight public institutions including the Region of Campania, the Province and the Municipality of Naples, and the Order of Architects and Universities of Campania.
 Several architect were among those who paid tribute to Caròla, including the Dean of the Faculty of Architecture Benedetto Gravagnuolo and the President of the Order of Architects Paolo Pisciotta.

Read more: ...